DVR. Enable the ability to pause a live stream

What is it?
Enable
Use

What is the DVR feature?

DVR (Digital Video Recorder) is a paid feature that allows your viewers to pause and rewind the broadcast.

You can see how the DVR works on the demo page. The red circle means that you’re watching a live broadcast.

image1.png

If you pause or rewind the broadcast with DVR, the circle turns gray.

image2.png

DVR is based on caching technology. When you enable the feature, we start caching your live streams for 1 hour by default. This means that viewers can rewind your broadcast for up to one hour.

If your live streams are usually longer, you can increase the DVR playback time up to 4 hours by contacting tech support. It’s free to increase the amount.

Enable the DVR feature

To enable the feature, send us a request via support@gcore.com or the chat window in the bottom-right corner of our website. Please specify your ID in the request, so we can identify your account. You can find it on the main page of your control panel.

image3.png

The message template: "Greetings! Please enable the DVD feature for the account with ID … (your ID)". Specify if you want to increase the playback time to 4 hours.

We will notify you when the feature is enabled. After that, you will be able to use it for your account.

Use the DVR feature

1. Create a new live stream according to the Create a live stream guide or open an existing live stream.

Complete the remaining steps on the Live stream settings page.

image4.png

2. Turn on the DVR toggle to activate the feature. After you start the broadcast with the DVR feature enabled, it takes about 10 minutes for the content to accumulate in the cache for rewinding. For the first 10 minutes, there won’t be the ability to pause or rewind the broadcast.

3. (optional) Opposite the toggle is the Clear button. It allows the DVR cache to be cleared. Press it every time you start a new broadcast in an existing live stream. Otherwise, your viewers may watch the end of the previous broadcast from the cache.

4. Save changes, so that the scroll bar appears in the player for viewers and they can navigate your broadcast.

image5.png

For Android smartphones, double-tapping the player screen in our player rewinds or skips forward by 10–15 seconds, depending on whether you press on the left or right, respectively.

Was this article helpful?
Recently viewed articles